The Coudenberg Hill in Brussels was home to a small fortress from the 12th century; over the centuries the structure was transformed into one of the most magnificent European palaces, the main residence of Charles V. After a huge fire in 1731, nothing much was left extant; in the late 1700s, the ruins were levelled to the ground and the construction of a new royal quarter commenced. Tourists can now explore the underground structures of the old palace, as well as the former Rue Isabelle, today - the fundament of the Royal Quarter and the house of Counts of Hoogstraeten. The Hoogstraeten building now houses an exhibition of the most interesting finds from the Coudenberg Hill archaeological excavation.
Place des Palais 7
Keywords: museum, Brussels