The Neo-Gothic Maison du Roi or King's House is located in the place that used to be the residence of the Dukes of Barbant - in the Brussels Grand Place, across from the Town Hall. In 1884, the city decided to use the building to open a museum dedicated to the rich history of Brussels. The collection was originally quite small and took up only a little section of the house; in 1960, the considerably grown museum took over the whole of the building. The permanent exhibition offers an insight into different aspects of the city's history. The first floor is dedicated to objects of plastic and decorative art from Brussels: tapestries, paintings (including The Peasant Wedding attributed to Pieter Bruegel), 15th and 16th-century icons, faience items typical of Brussels, as well as objects created by the finest goldsmiths. The second floor features city plans and miniature scale models which illustrate the city's growth and expansion. In the third floor, the culture, economics and community of Brussels are represented by historical documents, paintings, graphic works and manuscripts. This is also where the whole wardrobe of Manneken Pis - the famous 'pissing boy' that has come to symbolise Brussels - is displayed, currently counting some 600 costumes. A game designed for children and teenagers offers an exciting and easy-to-grasp way of getting to know the history of the city.
Maison du Roi, Grand-Place
Keywords: museum, Brussels